RSS Feed

Enough is Enough

Enough is enough. You have enough cookie recipes.

I don’t mean to sound harsh, but you know it’s true.

And that’s coming from the cookie monster.

I don’t know about you, but I need to fast from cookies.

It’s sounds terribly harsh and I don’t mean to be harsh, but perhaps that’s what it’s going to take.

I don’t mean I’ll never eat a cookie again, but I really need to cut back. The other day began with a cookie and I justified it by telling myself that the caffeine and antioxidants in a sour cream chocolate chip cookie make it a wholesome breakfast choice. From there, I moved on to the mid-morning molasses cookie that I had with tea, thinking of it as a comforting, transitional type of snack. (We’re transitioning to lunch.) I was making soft spice biscotti during the lunch hour, so guess what kind of cookie I had for lunch. Yep. There I was crunching on biscotti ends while my toddler finished up her applesauce and the baby downed his spinach and pumpkin. Eek.

The kids wore me out and there was no time for napping so at 3 o’clock  rocky road biscotti and a cup of coffee came to the rescue.

I feel like I’m at confession.

You’d think it would end there.

You’d think.

But no. I was straightening up in the kitchen and spotted an iced lemon cookie that had a crack running through its center. We can’t have that. So, I had it.

I love cookies, but after a day of them I felt rather dry. I needed something sweet and refreshing and I found it.

The following is an adaptation of a recipe I found in How to Eat Supper by Rosetta Lynn Kaspar and Sally Swift. These ladies are fantastic, fantastic, fantastic. Every Saturday at noon I tune in to public radio to hear Lynn talk about food on her program The Splendid Table. Ah. Fantastic. Her books are just as delightful. I highly recommend them.

Homemade Fruit Sorbet

Get the food processor running! And keep it running through the entire process.

Run 16 ounces of frozen fruit (strawberries, peaches, pineapple, etc.) through the processor.  Add 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract, a pinch of salt, 5 tablespoons of sugar (to taste), the juice of 1/2 of a large lemon, and 3 tablespoons of water. Puree this combo until you have a smooth sorbet. You’ll need to scrape down the bowl of the processor a few times.

So, get out the frozen fruit tonight!

We can eat cookies tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

