RSS Feed

Honey, could you make something sweet?

Music to my ears. This is Jessica, by the way. Kelsey normally blogs. I just read her posts and giggle.

I’m here to bring you a recipe. When your husband asks you to make him something sweet at 9 pm on a warm summery night, the first thing that comes to your mind is not preheating your over to 350. This is a recipe that is special, and you don’t have to bake anything. (Unless you want to make your own ladyfingers, which I do recommend if you have the time).

Here’s my tiramisu recipe. I’m usually terrified to make anything with raw eggs because of food poisoning and my paralyzing fear of being sick to my stomach. (Of course this doesn’t stop me from eating cookie dough in obscene amounts.) But I went for it. And it was… de… licious.

Tiramisu (An Alcohol Free Variety)

Preheat Oven to – oh wait. You don’t cook this.

Baking time- oh, that’s right. You don’t bake this either.

Ingredients

3 eggs, separate whites and yolks.

24 ladyfingers (use home made or REALLY good quality)

6 tablespoons of sugar

8 ounces mascarpone cheese

1 tablespoon cocoa powder (I used sweetened ghirardelli)

1 cup of espresso (If you’re me, you use your morning coffee that you forgot to take out of the pot and add some espresso powder to it. I recommend sweetening this but it’s your choice)

Directions

Whip egg whites until firm

Mix sugar, mascarpone, and egg yolks

Fold whites into yolk mixture

Dip ladyfingers into espresso, place 12 on the bottom of a 10 X 7 dish, cover with half mascarpone mixture.

Place remainder of soaked ladyfingers on top, cover with remainder of mascarpone mixture.

Sprinkle with powdered cocoa.

Let this set in the refrigerator for an hour. I could only wait 30 minutes and this worked but it was better the next morning for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

