RSS Feed

Vermont Vittles

Ah, pudding pops. So delightful. And delightfully chilly which is very much welcomed on these blazing hot days here in Southern New Jersey. I’m eating a coconut vanilla pudding pop of my own doing, to my own demise. Oh but it’s so good. All I did was make my homemade vanilla pudding (I’ll include the recipe soon, don’t worry. Just use cow’s milk instead of goat’s.), added 1/4 cup of shredded sweetened coconut, mixed and froze the concoction in pop containers. The result was and is very nice. I think you’ll like it. Let’s bring back the pudding pop together!

If anyone has been keeping tabs on this blog, he or she may have noticed a lull in writing. I was in Vermont. But I didn’t forget about you. I did my share of cooking and baking and eating and “marketing.”

One of my first outings was to go strawberry and cherry picking. Vermont was a few weeks behind for their strawberry season, which was a fortunate thing for us Jerseyans who miss our beloved red gems. And the cherries were lovely. I had a blast trying the different varieties. There was actually one with a hint of apricot. Yes, an apricot-ish cherry.

It was my objective to make a cherry tart, but alas, we enjoyed the fruit so much as it was that there just wasn’t enough for baking. I did use some of the strawberries to make a strawberry rhubarb pie.

The following day we went to a Nubian goat farm and met the happiest farm creatures.

From this excursion we obtained two gallons of goat milk. Now, I had my doubts, but the others believed this milk to be the greatest stuff and it was close, but not being a big milk drinker and having a hyper-sensitive snout, I couldn’t get the goaty liquid down. The milk only stays fresh for about three or four days so we had to do something. And quickly. Being the baking addict I am, I thought I’d make a pudding. I used double the vanilla, a bit more butter, some brown sugar and I still couldn’t get passed the goaty-ness of it. I made a rhubarb-apple compote to top the pudding. The  recipe follows. You never know when you’re going to acquire two gallons of goat milk, so you better have this recipe on hand. Oh and you can use cow’s milk and still get a delicious pudding.

Vanilla-the-Goat Pudding

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups goat’s milk
  • 4 egg yolks, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons and 1 teaspoon butter
  • 4 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar

Directions

  1. In a small saucepan, combine the sugar, cornstarch and salt. Gradually stir in milk.
  2. Over medium heat, cook, stirring constantly, until thickened and bubbly.
  3. Reduce heat; cook and stir 2 minutes longer. Remove from the heat.
  4. Stir a small amount of hot filling into egg yolk; return all to the pan, stirring constantly.
  5. Bring to a gentle boil; cook and stir 1 minute longer. Remove from the heat. Gently stir in butter, brown sugar and vanilla.
  6. Cool for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  7. Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Rhubarb Apple Compote

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 3 cups thinly sliced rhubarb
  • 1 cup thinly sliced tart apple
  • 1/2 cup white sugar

In a skillet, melt the butter. Stir in the rhubarb, apple, and sugar. Cook down until the fruit is tender and you have a nice sauce. Stir occasionally. This should take between 5 and 10 minutes.

We didn’t stop there. My clever sisters decided to make goat cheese using a swaddle blanket since we did not have a cheese cloth. It turned out well. And the blanket survived.

The second to last day we needed a dessert (notice I said “needed”), but no one wanted to shop for ingredients. I was on a mission to make a cake using what we brought (baby pears, almonds, olive oil), bought (apples, flour, white sugar, brown sugar), or could find in the cabinets at the lodge (really, really old baking soda). I did it and it was well-received. I could taste the baby pears (thank you, Asher), but the others weren’t bothered by it. Next time I’ll be sure to pack applesauce.

I call this Makeshift Vermont Camping Cake.

Make-shift Vermont Camping Cake

  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup baby pears (or applesauce)
  • ½ cup olive oil (vegetable would be best)
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 cups apples – peeled, cored and sliced

Streusel

  • ¼ cup almond and pecans, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cold butter, diced
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour  a 10-inch Bundt pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, beat oil, baby pears, and eggs with an electric mixer until creamy. Add the sugar and vanilla and beat well.
  3. In a small bowl, prepare the streusel by combining the sugars, flour, and cinnamon. Cut in the butter and form large crumbs.
  4. Combine the flour salt, baking soda, and ground cinnamon together in a bowl. Slowly add this mixture to the egg mixture and mix until combined. The batter will be very thick. Fold in the apples by hand using a wooden spoon. Spread ½ of the batter into the prepared pan. Sprinkle with the streusel. Spread the rest of the batter over the streusel.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 45 minutes or until cake tests done. Let cake cool on a wire rack.

We made smores the last night. I needed to give that oven a rest.

3 responses »

  1. The goat pudding and cheese were amazing! Let’s buy a flock of Nubian goats!

    Reply
  2. I would love to have goats!!! Also I have to try that pudding recipe for Andrew. The only problem is he is so used to grocery store pudding I don’t know if he would know what good pudding tastes like!

    Reply
  3. pudding pops sounds great! the swaddle blanket did not survive!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

