RSS Feed

Soft Cookies with a Slight Kick

 

I have this spice thing. Perhaps it’s because I’ve spent much of my life with stomach issues. I can rationalize eating a cookie if it has ginger in it because ginger is believed to be a digestive aid. Then there’s cinnamon and we all know that cinnamon contains antioxidants and who doesn’t need antioxidants? Cloves, all-spice, nutmeg…it’s all wonderful.

I have a friend who needs some cookies. Well, I think he could use some cookies. I’m sure you know someone who could use a cookie, too. My friend likes oatmeal raisin cookies and is always game for some experimental foods, so I thought I’d add the wonders of ginger and cloves to the already deliciously delightful oatmeal raisin cookie.

I hope he likes them.

 

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies with a Kick

1 cup butter

½ cup light brown sugar

½ cup dark brown sugar

½ cup white sugar

2 large eggs

1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground cloves

½ teaspoon ground ginger

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup raisins

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter, sugars, eggs, and vanilla.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves, and ginger.
  4. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.
  5. Gently stir in the oats and raisins.
  6. Spoon out dough by teaspoonfuls onto cookie sheets.
  7. Bake at 350* for about 10 minutes.
  8. Cool on the sheet for 5 minutes. Remove and cool on a wire rack.

I really enjoy this cookie as it is, but if you would like to experiment with the recipe please do. You could omit the ginger and cloves, reduce the cinnamon to ½ teaspoon, and substitute chocolate chips for the raisins. Or you could take out the cloves, up the ginger, and substitute dried cranberries for the raisins. I’m sure you can come up with something grand.

One response »

  1. These cookies were everything I could dream about in an oatmeal raisin.
    Thank You, Maddy Lu!

    Maureen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

